Contact Drivers Legal Plan for a free consultation.
Enter Code Shown
In Alabama, traffic violations committed in your personal vehicle may also affect your CDL driving record. If your license is revoked or suspended for any reason while driving your personal vehicle, your CDL will also be suspended. The length of time of the suspension will depend on the severity of the violation. Excessive speeding violations result in suspension of 60-120 days, and alcohol violations result in suspensions of one year. Regardless of the type of traffic violation you are charged with, whether in your commercial or personal vehicle, you are required by law to report it to your employer within 30 days.
Your commercial driver’s license can be suspended for varying lengths of time based on the number of points you accumulate on your record within a 2-year period. The more points a driver accumulates with a 2-year period, the longer the suspension. Current Alabama suspension times are:
Traffic convictions that are over two years old lose their point count toward suspensions but remain on your driving record.
The most important thing to remember when you receive a ticket is that you should never just pay the ticket or the court fees without first talking to a legal representative who understands trucking laws. Paying the ticket automatically counts as a plea of guilty on your record. You have the right to dispute charges to defend your driving record and an experienced lawyer can fight for you in court to help minimize the impact on your driving history.