If You Get A Ticket In California
In California, as in most states, CDL drivers are held to a stricter standard and licensing requirements than non-commercial drivers. You could lose your CDL in California for months, a year or even for life, depending on the severity of the violation. Some of the most common penalties and violations are:
- Driving 15mph or more over the posted speed limit, reckless driving, following too closely, improper lane changes: 60-day loss of your CDL
- Failing to reduce speed at railroad tracks: no less than 60 days loss of driving privileges
- Driving with a BAC of .04% or greater: one-year loss of driving privileges
- Refusal to take a breath test for suspicion of DUI or being convicted of a DUI: one-year loss of license
- Second refusal to take a breath test for suspicion of DUI: loss of CDL for life
A violation in a commercial vehicle is subject to 1-1/2 times the number of points given for the same violation in a non-commercial vehicle. Drivers who receive six points in a 12-month period, eight points in a 24-month period, or ten points in a 36-month period will have their CDL suspended for up to one year. Some of the more severe offenses, such as DUI, can even result in losing your license for life.
If you receive a ticket in California, it's important to know that you should not just pay the fine without speaking to a legal representative first. By paying the fine, you are basically pleading guilty to a charge that could affect your driving record and, ultimately, your ability to keep driving.
Commercial Driving Laws in California
One of the most common violations for commercial drivers is speeding. In California, commercial drivers are not allowed drive over 55 mph on any road or highway. Speeding violations are divided into three categories – with higher fines for greater speed. Drivers who are cited for driving 1-15 mph over the speed limit will faces fines between $230-$250. For speeds between 16 and 25 mph, fines range from $360-$380, and driving 26 mph over or more will result in fines between $490-$500. In addition to the fines, the DMV will add between 1 and 1.5 points to your driving record.