Georgia CDL Requirements
In the state of Georgia, a CDL is required for any driver planning to drive the following types or combination of vehicles:
- A combination of vehicles weighing 26,001 pounds or more
- A single vehicle with a gross vehicle weight of 26,001 pounds or more
- A single vehicle designed to transport more than 15 persons, including the driver
- Any vehicle used in the transport of hazardous materials
There are three different classes of CDLs. Before you obtain your license, you will need to determine which of the three is necessary for the type of vehicle you will be operating. The three basic classes include:
Class A: permits the holder to operate any combination of vehicles with a gross combination weight rating of 26,001 pounds of more, provided the gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of the vehicle or vehicles towed exceeds 10,000 pounds. Examples of these types of vehicles may include: tractor-trailers, truck and trailer combinations, tractor-trailer buses, tanker vehicles, livestock carriers, and flatbeds.
Class B: permits the holder to operate any single vehicle with a GVWR of 26,001 pounds or more, and/or any vehicle with a GVWR OF 26,001 lbs. or heavier that is towing another vehicle weighing UP TO 10,000 lbs. Examples of these types of vehicles may include: straight trucks, large buses such as city, tourist and school buses, segmented buses, box trucks such delivery or courier trucks, and dump trucks with small trailers.
Class C: permits the holder to operate any single vehicle or combination of vehicles that is not a Class A or B if the vehicle is designed to transport 16 to 23 passengers including the driver, or used in the transportation of hazardous materials as designated by federal guidelines. Examples of these types of vehicles may include: small HAZMAT vehicles, passenger vans, and combination vehicles not described in class A or B.
Georgia commercial driver guidelines require drivers to obtain a Commercial Learner’s Permit (CLP) before applying for a CDL.
Applying for a CLP
To apply for your CLP, you must be at least 18 years of age. Drivers between the ages of 18 and 21 who have successfully obtained their CLP may apply for the CDL but will be restricted to driving only within the state of Georgia. After a driver turns 21, the “Georgia Only” restriction can be removed from the license.
All drivers must meet the following Georgia CLP requirements:
- Have a valid Georgia driver license
- Pass a vision exam
- Take and pass all required written knowledge exams
- Pay the $10 permit fee prior to taking exams
- Take and pass any applicable endorsement exams
- Provide a medical card if required by your driving category
- Provide medical waivers, if required
- Surrender any out-of-state driver license, permit or ID card
- Provide documentation (in English) showing proof of identity, residence, Social Security number, and U.S. citizenship or proof of lawful status in the U.S.
All applicants must be able to read and understand English, must operate the appropriate class of vehicle and must bring a licensed driver qualified to operate that class of vehicle to your driving exam.
Applying for a CDL
Once you are qualified to apply for your CDL, you must complete the CDL application and pay the $35 application fee and $50 road test fee. Applications and fees can be submitted to any Customer Service Center that gives road tests. These locations include: Albany, Between, Brunswick, Cumming, Dalton, Gainesville, Jackson, Milledgeville, Rome, and Thompson. An appointment must be scheduled to take a road test. Appointments may be scheduled by calling (678) 413-8500.