Illinois CDL Tickets

Review Us

Free Consultation!

Contact Drivers Legal Plan for a free consultation.

If You Get A Ticket In Illinois

If you receive a ticket in the state of Illinois, the fee you pay and the level of charges against you will vary depending on the severity of the offense. A minor offense will not cause you to lose your license, but if you are charged with numerous offenses, even if all of them are minor, you could eventually lose your license or have it suspended. Other charges are classified as either “serious” or “major”. Major violations always result in some form of disqualification for commercial drivers. Serious offenses result in disqualification when multiple offenses accumulate.

 

Major Violations

First violations for major offenses in the state of Illinois result in a one-year disqualification. Drivers transporting hazardous materials receive a three-year disqualification. Second violations for all drivers result in a lifetime disqualification. Major violations in the state of Illinois include:

  • Being under the influence of alcohol
  • Being under the influence of a controlled substance
  • Having a blood alcohol concentration of .04 or greater while operating a CMV
  • Refusing to take an alcohol test as required by Illinois law under its implied consent laws or regulations
  • Leaving the scene of an accident
  • Using the vehicle to commit a felony
  • Driving a CMV when, as a result of prior violations committed operating a CMV, the driver’s CDL is revoked, suspended, or canceled, or the driver is disqualified from operating a CMV.
  • Causing a fatality through the negligent operation of a CMV, including but not limited to the crimes of motor vehicle manslaughter, homicide by motor vehicle and negligent homicide.
  • Using the vehicle in the commission of a felony involving manufacturing, distributing, or dispensing a controlled substance.

 

Serious Violations

First violations for serious offenses in the state of Illinois do not result in disqualification. A second serious violation within three years results in a 60-day disqualification, and a third serious violation results in a 120-day disqualification.

Serious violations in the state of Illinois include:

  • Speeding excessively, involving any speed of 15 miles per hour or more above the posted speed limit
  • Driving recklessly, as defined by Illinois law, including, but not limited to, offenses of driving a motor vehicle in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property
  • Making improper or erratic traffic lane changes
  • Following too closely
  • Violating Illinois law relating to motor vehicle traffic control (other than a parking violation) arising in connection with a fatal accident
  • Driving a CMV without obtaining a CDL
  • Driving a CMV without a CDL in your possession
  • Driving a CMV without the proper class of CDL and/or endorsement

 

Railroad-Highway Grade Crossing (RRHGC) Violations

The first RRHGC violation results in a disqualification of not less than 60 days. A second violation within three years results in a disqualification of not less than 120 days. A third violation within three years results in a disqualification of not less than one year.

RRHGC violations in the state of Illinois include:

 

  • No requirement to always stop, but driver fails to slow down and check tracks before crossing.
  • No requirement to always stop, but driver fails to stop before reaching the crossing, if the tracks are not clear.
  • Legal requirement to always stop, but driver fails to stop before driving onto the crossing.
  • Failure to have sufficient space to drive completely through the crossing without stopping.
  • Failure to obey a traffic control device or the directions of an official at the crossing.
  • Failure to negotiate a crossing because of insufficient undercarriage clearance.

 

Other Applicable CDL Violations

In addition to the above listed violations, commercial drivers need to be aware that are certain legal requirements that apply only to them. You can be penalized if you commit the following offenses in your commercial vehicle:

  • Carrying an oversize load without the proper permit.
  • Failure to be in possession of an up-to-date logbook.
  • Speeding over 15 miles per hour while towing a trailer.
  • Driving on a road where not permitted due to grade.