Iowa CDL Information
Drivers who wish to qualify for a commercial driver license (CDL) in the state of Iowa must be at least 18 years of age to drive within state lines and 21 years of age to drive outside of the state. In addition to the age requirement, drivers must meet specific criteria and pass a skills test and a driving test. A CDL is required to drive any vehicle that falls within Class A, B, or C categories.
Class A vehicles include any combination of vehicles with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating of 26,001 pounds or more, provided that the gross vehicle weight rating of the towed vehicle is in excess of 10,000 pounds.
Class B vehicles include any single vehicle with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating of 26,001 or more pounds, as well as any vehicle towing another vehicle that does not exceed a weight of 10,000 pounds.
Class C vehicles include any vehicle or combination of vehicles that does not meet the criteria of either Class A or B, but is designed to transport 16 or more passengers (including the driver), or is used in transporting materials classified as hazardous in the Hazardous Materials Transportation Act. Applicants must also have a passenger or hazardous materials endorsement to drive a Class C vehicle.