Kansas CDL Information
The state of Kansas considers a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) to be any vehicle that weighs 26,001 or more pounds, is designed to carry hazardous materials, or is designated for transporting 16 or more passengers. Firetrucks, military vehicles, and private-use commercial vehicles, such as RVs, are not subject to licensing requirements. Farm owners are also exempt when operating farm equipment within Kansas state lines, within 150 miles of the farm. Temporary 180-day permits are available for individuals wishing to operate a class B or C commercial vehicle for farm retail, custom harvest, and livestock feeding within 150 miles of the farm.
Please note that effective February 7, 2022, drivers who wish to take either a skills or written knowledge test for a CDL must provide proof of completed applicable entry-level driver training from a registered training provider. Details of this requirement can be found at the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) website.
Additionally, Kansas law (KSA 8-2, 157) requires all CDL holders to complete Truckers Against Trafficking training before obtaining a new CDL or renewing a current one. Required training can be complete online at the Truckers Against Trafficking website.
Commercial vehicles are classified in three different categories based on weight. Drivers applying for a CIP must ensure they apply for the correct class of vehicle.
Class A vehicles: are vehicles with a combined weight of 26,0001 or more pounds, with a tractor weight of 26,001 or more pounds and trailer(s) weight of more than 10,000 pounds.
Class B vehicles: are vehicles with a combined weight of 26,0001 or more pounds, with a tractor weight of 26,001 or more pounds and trailer(s) weight of less than 10,000 pounds.
Class C vehicles: are vehicles that do not meet the definition of Class A or Class B but is either designed to transport 16 or more passengers or is placarded to carry hazardous materials.