If You Get A Ticket In Ohio
If you possess and Ohio CDL and receive a traffic violation within the state of Ohio, the court will notify the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV), who will then assess the points to be added to your driving record and any disqualifications against you, based on the severity of the violation. If you receive a violation outside of the state of Ohio, you are required by law to report it to the Ohio BMV within 10 days. Failure to do so is considered a misdemeanor.
The most important thing to remember when you receive a citation of any type is that you have the option to contact an attorney, who can help you fight for a much better outcome. No driver should ever pay a ticket without first talking with an experienced law firm who understands commercial driving laws. In many cases, they can help you keep your job and maintain your ability to keep driving for the long term.
Commercial Driving Laws in Ohio
Violations for commercial drivers in the state of Ohio can result in the temporary loss of driving privileges or even permanent revocation of your CDL, depending on the severity and frequency of violations. In general, two traffic or moving violations with a 3-year period will result in the loss of your driving privileges for a minimum of 60 days. Drivers who are convicted of 3 violations within a 3-year period will lose driving privileges for a minimum of 120 days. These penalties may apply whether the violations occurred in your commercial or personal vehicle.
The following violations are considered serious offenses. Drivers convicted of these offenses will be subject to temporary suspension of driving privileges, based on prior convictions and the period of time that has elapsed between violations.
- driving in excess of 15 mph over the speed limit
- improper lane changes
- reckless driving
- following too closely
- negligence with a commercial vehicle that results in a fatality
- exceeding weight limitations on specified roads or highways
- exceeding 55 mph while towing a trailer
- failing to follow logbook regulations
- violating downhill grade restrictions
It is important to note that failure to notify your employer or the court about any prior traffic convictions, even if they occurred in another state, is considered an additional violation.
Commercial vehicles are required to stop or slow down prior to crossing railroad tracks and must ensure that there is proper clearance both in front of and under the vehicle. Violations of these requirements will result in revocation of your license for at least 60 days for a first offense, at least 120 days for a second offense, and one year for third or subsequent offenses within three years.
Out-Of-Service Orders (OSO)
In some situations, a police officer may issue an out-of-service order at the time of a violation. The OSO applies to both the driver and the commercial vehicle. The OSO temporarily prohibits the driver from operating the vehicle for varying amounts of time, depending of prior violations. Drivers who drive in violation of OSO restrictions will be subject to a 180-day revocation of their CDL on the first offense. Subsequent offenses will result in revocations of up to three years.