If You Get A Ticket In Texas
Fines for traffic violations in Texas vary by county. In some cases, you may be charged additional surcharges, depending on the type of conviction and the number of points on your record. The county court for the county in which you were ticketed will be able to provide you with specific information on the fines and penalties.
You have 20 days to decide if you want to pay the ticket or request a hearing. Additionally, commercial drivers who are convicted of a violation must notify their employer within 30 days, whether the ticket was issued in your personal or commercial vehicle.
Serious offenses may result in suspension of your CDL. The length of time your license will be suspended depends on the offense. The following is a general guideline:
Offenses that result in suspension of at least 1 year:
- alcohol-related offenses
- leaving the scene of an accident
- being involved in a felony
Drivers whose vehicles contain hazardous materials will be subjected to suspension of at least 3 years (for a first offense) for the above offenses.
All drivers who have alcohol-related charges may also face criminal charges.
- Drivers who have two serious traffic offenses within 3 years will have their license suspended for 60 days
- Drivers who have three serious traffic offenses within 3 years will have their license suspended for 120 days
- Drivers who use a commercial vehicle in a felony will have their license suspended for life
All drivers should be aware that their license can be suspended for traffic offenses committed in either personal or non-commercial vehicles.