If You Get A Ticket In Wyoming
Commercial drivers in Wyoming should be aware that violations or accidents that occur in their personal vehicles could affect their commercial driving record. Violations in a commercial vehicle carry heavier penalties and fines than those administered for violations in personal vehicles, so it’s important to understand your options and rights any time you are issued a ticket. An experienced legal professional who is knowledgeable in truck driving law can guide you – and, many times, help you get fines and points reduced. You owe it to yourself and your driving record to contact a professional before you pay any ticket.
Unlike many other states, Wyoming does not currently use a point system. However, the Wyoming Department of Transportation will record all traffic violations on your driving record. It is required for all commercial drivers to report any tickets or violations to their employer within 30 days.
For commercial drivers, Wyoming has put in place the following penalties that apply in all cases:
- Any driver holding a CDL who has four violations resulting in convictions within a 12-month period will automatically lose their CDL.
- Any CDL driver convicted of 2 or more serious moving violations within a 3-year period will have their license cancelled for 60 days. Drivers convicted or a third or subsequent conviction will have their license cancelled for 120 days.
Serious moving violations in Wyoming include:
- Speeding 15 mph or more over the speed limit
- Following another vehicle too closely
- Driving a commercial vehicle without a CDL
- Driving a commercial vehicle without a CDL in possession
- Improper or no endorsements
- Reckless driving
- Erratic or improper lane change
- Using a cell phone or texting while driving a commercial vehicle
- Driving or being in actual control of a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol level of .08 or greater
Drivers who commit any of the following major offenses will have their license cancelled and will be disqualified from driving a commercial vehicle or obtaining a CDL for one year:
- Driving under the influence
- Refusing to take a chemical test
- Driving or operating a commercial vehicle with a blood alcohol level of .04% or greater
- Leaving the scene of an accident
- Negligence that causes a commercial vehicle-related felony
- Driving under suspension in a commercial vehicle
- Using a motor vehicle in the commission of a felony
- Negligent operation of a commercial vehicle that causes a fatality
- Driving or operating any vehicle with a blood alcohol level of .08% or greater
Drivers who are convicted of a second or subsequent offense will be disqualified for life. Additionally, if the driver was transporting hazardous materials, the first offense will result in the license being cancelled for three years and a second offense will result in permanent lifetime revocation.
Any driver who uses a commercial vehicle in the state of Wyoming to transport a controlled substance will have their CDL permanently revoked.
Railroad Crossing Violations
CDL drivers who carry passengers or transport hazardous materials are required to stop at all railroad crossings. Any driver who violates any railroad crossing law will be disqualified for 60 days upon the first offense and for 120 days upon the second or subsequent offense. After the disqualification period is up, the driver will be required to retake the knowledge tests for a commercial learner’s permit (CLP) and begin the process for obtaining a new CDL. Railroad crossing violations include:
- Failure to stop at a railroad crossing
- Failure to obey a traffic control device
- Failure to negotiate a railroad crossing because of insufficient under-carriage clearance
- Failure to stop before reaching the crossing if the tracks are not clear
For violations that apply only to CDL holders, such as over-weight issues, speeding while towing, grade restrictions, and logbook violations, the State of Wyoming evaluates fines and penalties depending on a variety of factors:
- The amount over the speed limit
- The type of road
- Whether it is a first or second offense
- The number of total infractions within a 12-month period
No matter what the offense, the most important thing you can do to protect your driving record is contact a legal professional as soon as possible. Trucking laws vary by state – and an experienced professional can help you understand your options and fight for your driving record and your future.