If You Get A Ticket In Mississippi
Traffic violations committed in a commercial vehicle in Mississippi may result in a temporary or permanent loss of your license, depending on the severity of the violation. Commercial drivers typically face more severe fines and penalties for violations, even if they are considered minor. It is also important to note that for commercial vehicle drivers, tickets and violations that occur in your personal vehicle can also affect your commercial driving record.
If you receive a ticket, before you do anything, it’s important to contact an attorney experienced in commercial driving laws. In most instances, they can help you get the number of points on your record reduced by the judge, enable you to attend driving or traffic school to reduce your points total, and – most importantly - keep your job safe.
All traffic violations and suspensions of your CDL must be reported to the state and to your employer.
Moving violations for commercial vehicles in Mississippi include speeding up to 15 miles over the speed limit, illegal lane changes, and failure to stop at a red light or stop sign. Before you pay any fines for a ticket, no matter how minor, make sure you speak with a knowledgeable legal professional. Paying a fine is the same as pleading guilty, which can have a permanent effect on your driving record.
The following offenses are considered serious violations in Mississippi:
- Speeding 15 miles or more over the limit
- Reckless driving
- Improper lane change
- Following too closely
- Any traffic violation involving a fatality
- Driving a commercial vehicle without a CDL, without a CDL in possession, or without the proper endorsements
Drivers who are convicted of more than three serious violations within three years will have their license revoked. Drivers convicted of two serious violations within a three-year period will be disqualified from driving for 60 days. Drivers who receive three violations will be disqualified from driving for 120 days. These penalties will occur no matter what state you were driving in when the violation occurred.
The following major offenses will result in a one-year disqualification of your CDL in Mississippi:
- Refusing to submit a chemical substance test
- Operating a commercial vehicle under the influence
- Operating a commercial vehicle with a blood alcohol content of at least .04%
- Failing to render aid in an accident
- Driving a commercial vehicle while disqualified
- Negligence resulting in a fatality
- Any crime involving a motor vehicle that is punishable by more than one year in jail (three years if the offender was hauling hazardous materials)
Any driver convicted of more than one major offense will receive a lifetime CDL disqualification.
Drivers who are convicted of using a motor vehicle to distribute, manufacture or transport controlled substances will be disqualified for life.
Railroad crossing and out-of-service order offenses in Mississippi
Mississippi has specific laws for commercial vehicles and railroad crossings as well as out-of-service orders for drivers who commit certain violations, such as driving under the influence of alcohol. Drivers who violate these laws are subject to penalties and fines. These include:
- Out-of-service order, first offense: 90-day disqualification (180 if driving a hazmat or passenger vehicle) and $1500 fine
- Out-of-service order, second offense: 1-year disqualification (3 years if driving a hazmat or passenger vehicle), and $1500 fine
- Out-of-service order, third offense: 3-year disqualification, and $1500 fine
- Railroad crossing, first offense: 60-day disqualification
- Railroad crossing, second offense: 120-day disqualification
- Railroad crossing, third offense: 1-year disqualification
Railroad crossing offenses may also include a fine up to $4,000.
As a commercial driver, your license and driving record are critical to your success and future employment potential. Don’t put your livelihood at risk by failing to protect yourself. For a minimal cost, you can have the protection and expertise of a knowledgeable legal professional who is dedicated to protecting your good driving record.