Missouri CDL Requirements

Free Consultation!

Contact Drivers Legal Plan for a free consultation.

Missouri CDL Requirements

Once you have obtained your CLP by taking the written knowledge test and held your permit for at least 14 days, you can begin the process of obtaining your CDL in Missouri.

While requirements are subject to change based on new laws and regulations, in general, you can expect to be required to comply with the following:

  • You must be at least 18 years old for driving (within Missouri) and 21 years old for interstate (crossing the Missouri state line) driving
  • Hold a valid Missouri non-commercial (Class D) driver’s license
  • Provide proof of U.S. citizenship or legal presence
  • Provide proof of Missouri residency
  • Pass a medical examination performed by a certified medical examiner and submit a Medical Examination Report (MER) and Medical Examiner’s Certificate (MEC)
  • You may be required to submit fingerprints and pass a criminal background check
  • Pass a vision test

Acceptable forms of U.S. Citizenship include:

  • Certified copy of birth certificate
  • Social Security card or proof of number
  • Valid, unexpired U.S. passport
  • Consular Report of Birth Abroad (CRBA) issued by the U.S. Department of State
  • Certificate of Naturalization issued by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security
  • Certificate of Citizenship issued by the Department of Homeland Security
  • Valid, unexpired Permanent Resident Card, issued by USCIS or INS

Acceptable proof of Missouri residency includes:

  • Current utility bills with your name and Missouri address, no more than 60 days old
  • A copy of your residential rental or lease agreement that includes your name and Missouri address
  • A Missouri property tax bill or receipt dated within the last 12 months
  • A current mortgage statement for property in the state of Missouri
  • A current homeowners’ or renters’ insurance statement showing your Missouri address
  • Correspondence from the Social Security Administration with your Missouri address dated within the last 12 months
  • A current Missouri motor vehicle title or registration document
  • A Missouri Agriculture Exemption Permit Card
  • A current W-2 wage or 1099 tax form with your Missouri address

When you have satisfied all these requirements, and your CLP requirements, you will be eligible to take the skills tests, which include general knowledge, specific vehicle type knowledge, air brakes (if applicable), and any endorsements you are seeking. The basic fee for most first-time CDL applicants is about $77, which includes the skills test, license transaction, and office processing fees.

In 2022, the FMCSA approved and implemented an updated CDL skills test. Beginning in October 2023, the Missouri State Highway Patrol, in collaboration with the Department of Revenue, will begin training all state and third-party CDL skills test examiners to prepare for upgrades to test sites as specified by the FMCSA. Until the upgrade transition is complete, test sites will continue to administer the current version of the skills test.